Final Project Proposal

Screen Shot 2015-10-06 at 10.20.12 AM

For my final project I would like to produce a documentary photo series about youth culture – portraits of inexperience, enthusiasm, innocence, indiscretion, etc etc… As a college senior this year, I have started to feel like i’m stuck in a weird limbo, floating and existing somewhere between childhood and adulthood. I want to use these photos to not only document what feels like the last few months of my youth, but to also explore the emotion and feelings that my friends and I are experiencing. I don’t want these portraits to be just photos of my friends drunk at a bar on their 21st birthdays but instead photographs that capture feeling and emotion.

During the week of October 15-18 I will be in NYC for CMJ fest – a week long music festival across Manhattan and Brooklyn. I will be covering events for POND Magazine and will also be hosting a concert myself on Saturday night at Arlene’s Grocery in the Lower East Side. Over the course of the 4-5 days I am there I will be reuniting with my friends I haven’t seen since school started, attending shows of my favorite bands, and meeting with artists and contributors of POND.

I think this is the perfect opportunity for me to record what I want to record and I think these photos have the potential to tell a story that will be just as much about my friends as it will be about me. However, it is not my intention to photograph a specific subculture or a music scene – I would like to include photographs of my life in State College as well, so as a whole the images can cohesively create a narrative or act as a visual diary for myself.

I don’t know if it’s too broad of a topic because I would not be focusing on one specific event or one specific person but instead a variety of different people in my life – which i’m hoping will create a stronger series.

I was doing a little research to get some inspiration for this project and I came across the work of Anders Peterson – definitely check him out! – http://www.dazeddigital.com/photography/article/18347/1/the-anti-voyeur

Also this: http://www.dazeddigital.com/photography/article/25922/1/the-photographers-who-shot-the-streets-best

Screen Shot 2015-10-06 at 10.26.06 AM

Leave a Reply

